Pharmacy Quality Alliance Appoints 2020 Board and Executive Committee

Leaders from Diverse Healthcare Professions, Organizations and Industries Guide PQA

Alexandria, Va. (January 22, 2020) – The Pharmacy Quality Alliance (PQA) Board of Directors approved its 2020 Executive Committee and appointed two new members to the 21-member Board during its 2019 fourth quarter meeting. The appointments were effective January 1.

“PQA’s Board represents a diverse group of thought leaders and experts in healthcare, who understand how medication optimization improves patient outcomes and supports a value-based care system,” Laura Cranston, PQA Chief Executive Officer, said. “Covering the healthcare spectrum, their expertise will help us advance the safe and appropriate use of medicines.”

Jamie Chan, PharmD, Senior Director, Clinical Quality at Blue Shield of California, will serve as PQA’s Board Chair in 2020. A national leader in healthcare quality, safety, clinical pharmacy practice and benefit design, Chan has been involved in PQA’s work for more than 10 years. She succeeds David Medvedeff, PharmD, MBA, Chief Executive Officer of Aspen RxHealth, who will remain on the Board’s Executive Committee as Immediate Past Chair.

“As our health system increasingly moves toward value-based care, PQA has a vital role to play in supporting the safe and effective use of medication,” Chan said. “I am honored to work alongside the PQA Board, our members and staff to optimize medication use through research, measurement and other quality initiatives that improve patient care and health outcomes.”

PQA Board appointments, including its Executive Committee, represent the breadth and diversity of PQA’s multi-stakeholder membership. In addition to Chan and Medvedeff, the 2020 Executive Committee includes: 

  • Jerry Penso, President and Chief Executive Officer, AMGA (Vice Chair)
  • Vikki Ahern, Senior Vice President and Plan President of Medicare Part D, Magellan Rx Management (Secretary)
  • Anne Burns, Vice President, Professional Affairs, American Pharmacists Association (Treasurer)
  • Michael Duteau, President, Noble Health Services (Member at Large)
  • Laura Cranston, Chief Executive Officer, Pharmacy Quality Alliance

The new Board appointments for 2020 are:

  • Linda Garrelts MacLean, Vice President, Community Pharmacy Foundation, Interim Dean, Washington State University College of Pharmacy and Pharmaceuticals Sciences
  • Michael Taday, Vice President, Pharmacy Clinical Strategies and Operations, Humana

Twelve individuals will continue their Board service in 2020:

  • Mike Anderson, Chief Pharmacy Officer, United Healthcare
  • Christie Boutte, Senior Director, Federal and State Public Policy, National Association of Chain Drug Stores
  • Susan Cantrell, Chief Executive Officer, Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy
  • Lou Dallago, Vice President, US Trade Group, Pfizer, Inc.
  • Rick Gates, Senior Vice President, Pharmacy and Healthcare, Walgreens Boots Alliance
  • Ronna Hauser, Vice President, Pharmacy Affairs, National Community Pharmacists Association
  • Sharon Jhawar, Chief Pharmacy Officer, SCAN Health Plan
  • Jeffrey Kelman, Chief Medical Officer, Center for Medicare at the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)
  • Bhavesh Modi, Vice President, Pharmacy, Healthfirst
  • Cynthia Pigg, Vice President, Managed Care and Business Development, Cardinal Health
  • Jason Spangler, Executive Director, Value, Quality, and Medical Policy, Amgen
  • Troy Trygstad, Vice President, Pharmacy Programs, Community Care of North Carolina

PQA has four 2020 Board liaisons, who provide additional insights and counsel relevant to PQA’s multi-stakeholder members. They are Alan Balch, CEO, Patient Advocacy Foundation; Michelle Ketcham, Director, Division of Clinical and Operational Performance, CMS; Tripp Logan, Board Member, NCPA Innovation Center; and Jeff Rochon, CEO, Washington State Pharmacy Association. 


Contact: Richard Schmitz, PQA Senior Director of Communications, [email protected] or 703-347-7931