Pharmacy Quality Alliance Appoints 2019 Board and Executive Committee

Leaders from Diverse Healthcare Professions, Organizations and Industries Guide PQA

Alexandria, Va. (December 12, 2018) – The Pharmacy Quality Alliance (PQA) Board of Directors approved its 2019 Executive Committee and appointed four new members to the 23-member Board during its fourth quarter meeting. The appointments are effective January 1.

“PQA’s Board represents a diverse group of thought leaders and experts in healthcare, who understand how medication optimization improves patient outcomes and supports a value-based care system,” Laura Cranston, PQA Chief Executive Officer, said. “Covering the healthcare spectrum, their expertise will help us advance the safe and appropriate use of medicines.”

David Medvedeff, PharmD, MBA, Chief Executive Officer of Aspen RxHealth, will serve as PQA’s Board Chair in 2019. A nationally recognized leader and innovator in pharmacy, Dr. Medvedeff has been involved in PQA’s work since its founding. He succeeds Mary Ann Kliethermes, PharmD, Vice Chair and Professor at the Chicago College of Pharmacy, Midwestern University, who will remain on the Board’s Executive Committee as Immediate Past Chair.

“There are seismic shifts occurring in our healthcare system that are redefining the care process with a keen focus on driving value,” Medvedeff said, in accepting his role as chair. “Fundamentally value is determined by quality over cost, and PQA exists to define quality in medication use.  I am humbled to work with incredibly talented people at PQA, both staff and engaged members, to create and disseminate thoughtful measures that stand to profoundly impact patient outcomes.”

PQA Board appointments, including its Executive Committee, represent the breadth and diversity of PQA’s multi-stakeholder membership. In addition to Drs. Medvedeff and Kliethermes, the 2019 Executive Committee includes:

  • Jamie Chan, Senior Director, Medicare Stars Program, Blue Shield of California (Vice Chair)
  • Jerry Penso, President and Chief Executive Officer, AMGA (Secretary)
  • Anne Burns, Vice President, Professional Affairs, American Pharmacists Association (Treasurer)
  • Mitch Betses, Executive Vice President, CVS Health (Member at Large)
  • Laura Cranston, Chief Executive Officer, Pharmacy Quality Alliance

The new Board appointments for 2019 are:

  • Vikki Ahern, Senior Vice President and Plan President of Medicare Part D, Magellan Rx Management
  • Lou Dallago, Vice President, US Trade Group, Pfizer, Inc.
  • Michael Duteau, Vice President of Business Development and Strategic Affairs, KPH Healthcare Services, Inc.
  • Rick Gates, Senior Vice President, Pharmacy and Healthcare, Walgreens Boots Alliance

Twelve individuals will continue their Board service in 2019:

  • Mike Anderson, Chief Pharmacy Officer, United Healthcare
  • Alan Balch, Chief Executive Officer, Patient Advocate Foundation
  • Christie Boutte, Senior Director, Federal and State Public Policy, National Association of Chain Drug Stores
  • Susan Cantrell, Chief Executive Officer, Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy
  • Ronna Hauser, Vice President, Pharmacy Affairs, National Community Pharmacists Association
  • Sharon Jhawar, Chief Pharmacy Officer, SCAN Health Plan
  • Jeffrey Kelman, Chief Medical Officer, Center for Medicare at the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services
  • Bhavesh Modi, Vice President, Pharmacy, Healthfirst
  • Victor Perini, Vice President, Sales and Account Management, Accredo Health
  • Cynthia Pigg, Vice President, Managed Care and Business Development, Cardinal Health
  • Jason Spangler, Executive Director, Value, Quality, and Medical Policy, Amgen
  • Troy Trygstad, Vice President, Pharmacy Programs, Community Care of North Carolina


Contact: Richard Schmitz, PQA Senior Director of Communications, [email protected] or 703-347-7931