PQA Announces 2019-20 PQA-CVS Health Foundation Scholars

Scholars work with mentors on quality improvement projects

Alexandria, Va. (September 26, 2019) The Pharmacy Quality Alliance (PQA) announced today the 2019-20 class of PQA-CVS Health Foundation Scholars. Now in its fourth year, the scholars program supports Doctor of Pharmacy students, who will conduct a quality improvement project during the academic year with the support of a faculty mentor.

“Supporting the next generation of healthcare quality professionals is an important part of PQA’s mission,” said Laura Cranston, RPh, PQA Chief Executive Officer. “Partnering with the CVS Health Foundation, we are thrilled to support nine high-caliber students from across the nation, who will develop and complete a research project related to quality and performance-based models and quality metrics.”

The scholars will receive a stipend to attend the PQA Annual Meeting and the PQA Leadership Summit to support their education and professional networking in quality and performance measurement and value-based care. They will present a poster of their project at the 2020 PQA Annual Meeting, May 13-15. The top three projects, as judged by a PQA-appointed panel, will receive special recognition and an additional scholarship award.

The 2019-20 scholars and mentors are:

  • Adam Diallo, PharmD Candidate 2021, Notre Dame of Maryland University School of Pharmacy
    • Mentor: Sharon K. Park, PharmD, MEd, BCPS, Associate Professor Clinical and Administrative Sciences, Notre Dame of Maryland University
  • Kristine Hoang, PharmD Candidate 2021, Lipscomb University College of Pharmacy
    • Mentor: Sarah Uroza, PharmD, Assistant Professor, Lipscomb University
  • Chris Kotschevar, BSPS, PharmD Candidate 2020, College of Pharmacy and Allied Health Professions South Dakota State University
    • Mentor: Sharrel Pinto, BSPharm, DMM, MS, PhD, Department Head/Hoch Family Endowed Professor for Community Pharmacy Practice, South Dakota State University
  • Alexis Nicholson, PharmD Candidate 2020, Wilkes University, Nesbitt School of Pharmacy
    • Mentor: Nicole Pezzino, PharmD, BCACP, CDE, Director of Community Outreach & Innovation, Wilkes University
  • Ha Eun (Leena) Park, PharmD Candidate 2021, University of Colorado Skaggs School of Pharmacy
    • Mentor: Sarah Billups, PharmD, BCPS, Assistant Professor, University of Colorado
  • Rachel Thomas, PharmD Candidate 2021, Midwestern University Chicago College of Pharmacy
    • Mentor: Brooke Griffin, PharmD, BCACP, Professor of Pharmacy Practice Vice Chair for Clinical Services, Midwestern University
  • Lorraine Todor, PharmD Candidate 2022, University of Tennessee Health Sciences Center College of Pharmacy
    • Mentor: Junling Wang, MS, PhD, Professor, University of Tennessee
  • Matthew Wittman, PharmD Candidate 2022, University of Mississippi School of Pharmacy
    • Mentor: Sujith Ramachandran, PhD, Assistant Professor of Pharmacy Administration, University of Mississippi
  • Taylor Werner, PharmD Candidate 2021, University of North Carolina Eshelman School of Pharmacy
    • Mentor: Jill Bates, PharmD, MS, BCOP, FASHP, Director, PGY2 Oncology Pharmacy Residency, UNC Medical Center

For more information about the PQA- CVS Health Foundation Scholars Program please visit the PQA website's Student Programs page:


Contact: Richard Schmitz, PQA Senior Director of Communications, [email protected] or 703-347-7931