Recognizing Excellence In Quality

PQA Quality Awards Community Pharmacy Innovation in Quality Awards

PQA Quality Awards

The PQA Quality Awards & Recognition Program recognizes prescription drug plans that have high achievement or significant improvement in PQA measures of medication safety and appropriate use.

The PQA Excellence in Quality Award recognizes the highest level of combined achievement in overall performance and medication-use quality. Recipients must have achieved an overall summary rating of at least 4.5 stars and a 5-star rating on PQA medication measures used within the CMS Medicare Star Ratings Program.

The PQA Quality Improvement Award recognizes the highest improvement in medication safety and appropriate use. The Quality Improvement Award does not take into consideration the plan’s overall summary rating. Instead, awardees must have received a 5-star rating on the CMS Quality Improvement measure and the greatest combined improvement on PQA measures used within the CMS Medicare Part D Star Ratings Program.

Both awards are based solely on publicly available quality scores. The safe use of medications is a top issue for all providers, and it is also extremely important within the Medicare program. The high standards for excellence set forth in the awards criteria means that the recipients are truly outstanding in their protection of patients and in their promotion of optimal medication outcomes.

2018 Award Winners

excellence in quality

Alignment Health Plan (Alignment Healthcare)
Anthem Health Plans of New Hampshire (Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield)
Care Wisconsin Health Plan
Dean Health Plan (Dean Advantage)
Group Health Plan (HealthPartners)
HealthSpring of Florida (Leon Medical Centers Health Plans)
Kaiser Foundation Health Plan (Hawaii Region)
Kaiser Foundation Health Plan of the NW (Northwest Region)
Tufts Insurance Company (Tufts Health Plan)

quality improvement

Alignment Health Plan (Alignment Healthcare)
Health Alliance Medical Plans (Health Alliance Medicare)

Previous Winners

PQA Quality Awards Press Release PQA Quality Awards Questions

Community Pharmacy Innovation in Quality (CPIQ) Awards

The Community Pharmacy Innovation in Quality (CPIQ) Awards recognize high performance for a pioneering individual practitioner and an innovative community pharmacy practice that result in improvements in quality of care, medication optimization and patient outcomes. The awards are supported by funding from the Community Pharmacy Foundation.

Nominations for the 2019 CPIQ Awards will be accepted through January 16, 2019The awards presentation will be at the PQA Annual Meeting, May 15-17, 2019, in Baltimore, Md.

The inaugural recipients of the CPIQ Awards were announced at the 2018 PQA Annual Meeting:

individual award
Kari Trapskin, PharmD
Vice President, Health Care Quality Initiatives
Pharmacy Society of Wisconsin
pharmacy award
Charitable Pharmacy of Central Ohio

CPIQ Nomination Information CPIQ Nomination Form